Anti-Discrimination NSW

HSC Language Eligibility and Appeals Process

The Board of Studies ​Teaching and Educational Standard NSW​ (BOSTES) offers a range of language courses for the Higher School Certificate. In some Languages, up to five courses are available for students with different degrees of exposure to a language.

In order for students to maximise their linguistic potential, BOSTES has developed eligibility criteria where several courses in the same language are offered.

Eligibility criteria apply to these courses:

  • All beginners language courses
  • Continuers courses where a Heritage course is also offered
  • All Heritage Language courses
The school principal decides, using the published BOSTES criteria, the course that can be studied. If you do not agree with the decision, you can contact BOSTES to make an appeal. 

For further information:​

Related Content: